Maize Genetics Cooperation Maize Genetics Cooperation


The McClintock Prize for Plant Genetics and Genome Studies

The Barbara McClintock Prize for Plant Genetics and Genome Studies has been created to memorialize the unequalled contributions of Dr. McClintock through providing recognition to the most outstanding plant scientists working on both genetics and genomics in the present era.

In memory of the many contributions of Dr. McClintock, this Prize will be awarded each year to one or more of the most creative minds and productive scientists in the study of genome structure, function and evolution, including the analysis of gene regulation and epigenetics in any plant system. To be eligible, a scientist must be currently active. This award is for career scientific accomplishments, not for community service or as a way to assist the development of a junior scientist.

Medal design

Front designed by
Dumitru Badicean
(Click to flip)

2024 Winner

Dr. Caroline Dean
(John Innes Centre)

This award is in recognition of her contributions to the description of epigenetic control responsible for flowering time variation including epigenetic memory during vernalization, and the regulatory role of non-coding RNAs on chromatin and stochasticity of decision making at the cellular level that foreshadowed subsequent discoveries in animals.

Nomination Information

Nominations should include
1. the nominee's name and current position
2. a chronological listing of positions held
3. a list of elected memberships, fellowships and offices
4. a list of awards received
5. a 50 word maximum synopsis of the applicant's chief accomplishments
6. a 250 word maximum description of the candidate's major research contributions
7. a listing of no more than 15 key publications.
Awards will be made only to a single scientist each year, except in exceptional cases where two nominees contributed approximately equally in the same subject area.

Applications should be sent to John Portwood at [email protected].

The deadline for all applications is January 22nd 2024. Nominations will be evaluated by the MGEC. Each recipient will be invited to receive the award and make a research presentation at the annual Maize Genetics Conference.